Even the safest drivers might receive a speeding ticket at some point, and these violations can be quite expensive if they are not dealt with properly. After all of the fines and fees have been accounted for, a single ticket could end up costing you thousands of dollars. Those who fail to fight their tickets might have points placed on their driving record as well, and that could increase their insurance premiums for three years or longer. Whether you have lived in Virginia your entire life or just plan on passing through, you should know exactly how this state deals with speeding tickets and what can be done to protect your record.
Basic Speeding Tickets
A driver who doesn’t fight their charge will pay a base fine of around $6 for each mile per hour over the speed limit they were going. In addition to the initial fine, they will also have to pay a series of court fees. At the very least, you will most likely pay the court around $141 if you are convicted of driving 15 miles per hour over the speed limit. Unfortunately, your expenses will continue to climb once your insurance provider has been notified of the speeding ticket. Depending on your driving record, your insurance company could increase your premiums by over $100 a month.
Speeding and Reckless Driving
Many drivers never even realize that they weren’t actually charged with speeding until they receive their official ticket in the mail. Those who are going above 80 miles per hour at any time or 20 miles per hour above the posted speed limit could be charged with reckless driving. In the state of Virginia, reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $2,300. The judge will also have the option of sending you to jail for up to 12 months and suspending your license for six months.
Protecting Your Record
The vast majority of drivers who have been issued a speeding ticket will benefit from contacting an experienced Richmond traffic attorney. These legal professionals can help you come up with a strong case to potentially reduce your charges or have them dropped entirely. Without one of these attorneys by your side, you will be stuck navigating a complex legal process on your own. What started off as a minor mistake can end up costing you thousands of dollars if you don’t take the time to contact an attorney.